American Society of Marine Artists

MAY 8 - JUNE 25, 2017


Thursday May 11, 5pm – 7pm

CIMM invites the public to enjoy this collection of beautiful maritime artwork in this Juried West Regional Exhibition. Light refreshments will be provided. Wine and beer available for purchase. 


  • CIMM Members - FREE
  • ASMA Members plus 1 Guest - FREE
  • General Public - $10

The Channel Islands Maritime Museum is pleased to host the 2017 ASMA West Juried Regional Exhibition. ASMA was founded in 1978 by a small group of the country's leading maritime artists looking to explore and record the history of American marine art and to encourage the work of new artists. Their membership spans the Nation and currently includes over 500 artists. 

The American Society of Marine Artists West Exhibition at the CIMM contains some of the finest contemporary marine art being created today. Artists from all ASMA regions were invited to submit their work. 24 paintings were selected from a total of 125 entries from 57 artists by jurors Paul Mullally (ASMA Fellow, CA), Lisa Egeli (ASMA Fellow, MD), and Carolyn Hesse-Low (ASMA Signature, CA) selected 24 paintings from a total of 125 entries from 57 artists. There are also 9 ASMA Fellows work being exhibited, including David Bareford, Lisa Egeli, Peter Egeli, Leonard Mizerek, Paul Mullally, CW Mundy, Charles Raskob Robinson, Kim Shaklee, and John Stobart. Fifty percent of the exhibition is from ASMA West members, including one painting from Canada by Greg Freedman.

selected artists

  • Robert Akers
  • Richard Allison
  • Liz Armstrong    
  • Ralph N. Bladt
  • Joey Blazek
  • Cathy Boyer 
  • Larry Cannon
  • Sheri Farabaugh  
  • Nicholas Fox  
  • Greg Freedman       
  • Louis Stephen Gadal  
  • Anne Brodie Hill 

ASMA Fellows:

  • David Bareford  
  • Peter Egeli  
  • Leonard Mizerek 
  • CW Mundy
  • Charles Raskob  Robinson        
  • Kim Shaklee             
  • John Stobart  


  • Ray Hunter
  • Brent Jensen
  • Nam Soon Kim 
  • Wilford Maller      
  • Kirk McBride
  • Ann H. Mohnkern
  • Val Sandell  
  • Robert Semler                          
  • Jerry Smith  
  • Barbara Tapp                                 
  • John David Taylor                              
  • Karol Wyckoff  

Exhibition Jurors:

  • Lisa Egeli
  • Carolyn Hesse-Low                           
  • PaulMullally